American Chiropractic Association Presents 2020 Annual Awards

Dr. Richard Brown of the World Federation of Chiropractic Named Chiropractor of the Year

Arlington, Va. — The American Chiropractic Association (ACA) presented its 2020 Annual Awards last week in Washington, D.C., as part of its annual meeting, ACA Engage. The awards recognize chiropractors and other individuals for their exceptional service, achievement and/or leadership within the chiropractic profession.

ACA’s highest honor, the Chiropractor of the Year Award, was presented to Richard Brown, DC, of Toronto, Canada, secretary-general of the World Federation of Chiropractic, which comprises national chiropractic organizations representing 94 countries and seven world regions. He previously served as president of the British Chiropractic Association and as secretary-general of the European Chiropractors’ Union. In addition to increasing unity in the chiropractic profession globally, Dr. Brown has worked tirelessly to raise standards of care by promoting policies that support evidence-based care and person-centeredness. He has also been a strong proponent of chiropractors working collaboratively with other providers for the benefit of patients.

ACA’s Humanitarian of the Year Award was presented to James Martin, DC, of Wasilla, Alaska. Dr. Martin was recognized for the excellent care he provides to his community, which includes volunteer work on major projects that expand opportunities for healthy activities. He played a key part in raising funds for a $40 million YMCA facility in Wasilla and, working with the local Rotary Club, directed construction of a playground specially designed for disabled children.

Additional ACA Award recipients include:

Dana Madigan, DC, MPH, of Elmwood Park, Ill., and Kristina Petrocco-Napuli, DC, MS of Grover, Mo., both received the Academician of the Year Award, which recognizes individuals for their efforts to advance the profession through academic or educational excellence. Dr. Madigan is an assistant professor at National University of Health Sciences in Lombard, Ill., and Dr. Petrocco-Napuli is a professor at Logan University in Chesterfield, Mo., as well as a member of the adjunct faculty of New York Chiropractic College in Seneca Falls, N.Y.

Katherine Pohlman, DC, DICCP, MS, of Plano, Texas, received the George B. McClelland Researcher of the Year Award, recognizing an individual for developing, refining and/or expanding the body of knowledge in chiropractic. Dr. Pohlman is director of research at Parker University in Dallas, Texas.

Gina Wolf, DC, of Spokane Valley, Wash., and Eric Benson, DC, of Grand Island, Neb., both received the Delegate of the Year Award, and Quinn James, DC, of St. Peters, Mo., was recognized with the Alternate Delegate of the Year Award. Both awards recognize members of the ACA House of Delegates who have demonstrated exceptional service, achievement and/or leadership.

Michael Welker, DC, of Butte, Mont., received the Flynn-Lynch Award, which recognizes an outstanding member with no more than five years of experience in the House of Delegates. Dr. Welker serves as the state representative from Montana, which is part of ACA’s state affiliate program.

Photos of award winners are available upon request by e-mailing [email protected].

ACA Engage is the premier national conference for doctors of chiropractic, chiropractic assistants and chiropractic students. ACA Engage (formerly called NCLC) has a long history of bringing together industry leaders from all over the country to meet with members of Congress on Capitol Hill. The program has expanded to include a robust variety of education offerings (with CE credits available), speeches from respected thought leaders and panel discussions that delve into important topics. The new name reflects the association’s efforts to position the chiropractic profession for success by engaging a new generation of doctors with these exciting education, career and leadership-development opportunities.


About the American Chiropractic Association

The American Chiropractic Association (ACA) is the largest professional chiropractic organization in the United States. ACA attracts the most principled and accomplished chiropractors, who understand that it takes more to be called an ACA chiropractor. We are leading our profession in the most constructive and far-reaching ways–by working hand in hand with other health care professionals, by lobbying for pro-chiropractic legislation and policies, by supporting meaningful research and by using that research to inform our treatment practices. We also provide professional and educational opportunities for all our members and are committed to being a positive and unifying force for the practice of modern chiropractic. To learn more, visit and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.