Student ACA Presents 2019 Annual Awards

Arlington, Va. – The Student American Chiropractic Association (SACA) announced winners of its 2019 Annual Awards yesterday during the National Chiropractic Leadership Conference (NCLC), in Washington, D.C.

Chapter of the Year Award was presented to Southern California University of Health Sciences, located in Whittier, Calif., for its strong attention to teamwork. Chapter leaders were praised for working hard all year with genuine service as their primary goal, positively impacting their members, collaborating with other chapters and integrating the SACA spirit into every aspect of campus life.

Most Improved Chapter of the Year was awarded to the University of Bridgeport College of Chiropractic, located in Bridgeport, Conn., for its leaders’ success in increasing participation in the chapter’s activities and overcoming obstacles by being interactive and collaborative.

“ACA is proud of the accomplishments of all our student chapters, and we are especially pleased to recognize Southern California University of Health Sciences and the University of Bridgeport College of Chiropractic this year for their excellent work in nurturing teamwork and collaboration on and off campus,” said ACA President N. Ray Tuck, Jr., DC.

During the event, ACA corporate partner and NCLC sponsor Standard Process also presented its annual scholarship awards to SACA members Casey Rogers of Keiser University, Marylou Marie Garcia of Southern California University of Health Sciences, Korissa Ramage of Palmer College of Chiropractic West and Elizabeth Anne Scott of Parker University, who each received a $2,500 prize in recognition of winning essays they submitted as part of the competition.

More than 400 members of SACA attended NCLC this year. NCLC is the premier national conference for doctors of chiropractic, chiropractic assistants and chiropractic students. Beginning in 2020, NCLC will be called ACA Engage. NCLC has long been known for bringing together industry leaders from all over the country to meet with members of Congress on Capitol Hill, and engaging legislators will always be a priority. Over the years, the program has expanded to also include a wide variety of education offerings (with CE credit available), speeches from respected thought leaders and panel discussions that delve into important topics. The new name reflects the association’s efforts to position the chiropractic profession for success by engaging a new generation of doctors with these exciting education, career and leadership-development opportunities.


About the American Chiropractic Association

The American Chiropractic Association (ACA) is the largest professional chiropractic organization in the United States. ACA attracts the most principled and accomplished chiropractors, who understand that it takes more to be called an ACA chiropractor. We are leading our profession in the most constructive and far-reaching ways — by working hand in hand with other health care professionals, by lobbying for pro-chiropractic legislation and policies, by supporting meaningful research and by using that research to inform our treatment practices. We also provide professional and educational opportunities for all our members and are committed to being a positive and unifying force for the practice of modern chiropractic. To learn more, visit, and connect with us on Facebook and Twitter.