Chiropractors Convene in Atlanta for the American Public Health Association Annual Meeting

Last week, chiropractors from across the nation gathered in Atlanta, Ga., with a turnout of 15,000 attendees, for the annual meeting of the American Public Health Association (APHA). The Chiropractic Health Care section took center stage, leading two scientific sessions and conducting a business meeting aimed at reviewing achievements, welcoming new leaders, and strategizing for the future.

Marion “Will” Evans, DC, PhD, receives Lifetime Achievement Award from CHC Chair Rob Leach, DC, MS.

The scientific sessions featured diverse presentations from chiropractors, researchers, and medical physicians, covering a broad spectrum of topics. These ranged from insights into Veterans Health Administration data, Medicare, and worker’s compensation data, to a comprehensive review of U.S. regulations on informed consent and pharmacotherapy patterns among patients experiencing new onset neck pain.

A highlight of the business meeting was the presentation of awards, including the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award bestowed upon Marion Willard Evans Jr. D.C., Ph.D., MCHES. Dr. Evans was recognized for his unwavering dedication to the Chiropractic Health Care section and the chiropractic profession. With a rich history of service, including research and teaching roles at Parker, Cleveland, and Western States universities, Dr. Evans has held various leadership positions, including CHC section chair. His recent roles include serving as Department Head of Food Science, Nutrition, and Health Promotion at Mississippi State University and Assistant Dean of Health Sciences at the University of Southern Mississippi. Currently, Dr. Evans serves as the Dean of the College of Health Sciences at Georgia College and State University in Milledgeville.

Rob Leach, DC, MS, presents Distinguished Service Award to Krista Ward, DC, MPH.

Outgoing section Chair Dana Madigan, D.C., M.P.H., Ph.D., and former section secretary Krista Ward, D.C., M.P.H., CPH, were both acknowledged for their significant contributions to the Chiropractic Health Care Section.

The new leadership team, led by incoming chair Rob Leach, D.C., M.S., MCHES, outlined exciting plans for the future, including a public health webinar series project currently under consideration. The team also discussed ideas for advancing chiropractic health promotion in 2024.