ACA’s Annual Awards Honor Chiropractic Physicians for Outstanding Contributions to the Profession

Recipients were recognized at the 2016 National Chiropractic Leadership Conference, Feb. 24-27, in Washington, D.C.

Arlington, Va. – The American Chiropractic Association (ACA) announced its 2016 Annual Award recipients, who were honored during ACA’s recent House of Delegates (HOD) meeting as part of the 2016 National Chiropractic Leadership Conference (NCLC) in Washington, D.C., Feb. 24-27. ACA’s Annual Awards are presented to outstanding volunteer members and other individuals for their contributions to the chiropractic profession.

“It is my pleasure to acknowledge this year’s award recipients who have dedicated themselves to advancing the chiropractic profession,” said ACA President David A. Herd, DC. “The recipients of these awards have achieved extraordinary accomplishments and deserve this recognition by their peers.”

The association’s highest honor, the Chiropractor of the Year Award, was presented to ACA’s immediate past president, Anthony Hamm, DC, FACO, of Goldsboro, N.C. Dr. Hamm received his Doctor of Chiropractic degree from National University of Health Sciences in Lombard, Ill., and served as ACA president for two years. He previously served as ACA vice president, president of the ACA Council of Delegates and as the association’s North Carolina delegate. He is also past chairman of ACA’s Coding and Reimbursement Committee and Ethics Committee.

Robert Moberg, president and chief executive officer of ChiroTouch™, a leader in chiropractic practice management software, received the Humanitarian of the Year Award, which recognizes exceptional service, achievement and leadership to the profession. Moberg, who has significant tenure in corporate executive management, business ownership and development, and entrepreneurial pursuits, has been a strong supporter of both the association and the chiropractic profession in philanthropic and educational efforts.

Other 2016 ACA Annual Award recipients include:

  • Patrick Montgomery, DC, FASA, MS, Associate Professor of Chiropractic History, Philosophy and Technique at Logan University in Chesterfield, Mo.: Academician of the Year Award, which recognizes an individual for efforts in advancing the profession through academic or educational excellence.
  • Greg Kawchuk, DC, PhD, Associate Professor in the Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine at the University of Alberta in Alberta, Canada: George B. McClelland, DC, Researcher of the Year Award, which recognizes an individual for developing, refining and/or expanding the body of knowledge in chiropractic.
  • Thomas L. Ivey, DC, FICC, of Aberdeen, S.D.: Delegate of the Year Award, and Michael Martin, DC, of Plano, Texas: Alternate Delegate of the Year Award. Both awards recognize exceptional service, achievement and/or leadership to the profession, as well as exemplary membership recruitment and communication efforts.
  • Richard Cole, DC, of Memphis, Tenn.: Flynn-Lynch Award, recognizing an outstanding member of the ACA Council of Delegates with no more than five years experience on the Council.

Photos of award winners are available upon request by e-mailing ACA’s communications department.

NCLC is the premier national conference for doctors of chiropractic, chiropractic assistants and chiropractic doctoral students. The event brings together the best of chiropractic, including current and future leaders, by exposing them to important professional briefings, cutting-edge education programs and opportunities to meet with elected officials and colleagues.


# # #

The American Chiropractic Association based in Arlington, Va., is the largest professional association in the United States representing doctors of chiropractic. ACA promotes the highest standards of ethics and patient care, contributing to the health and well-being of millions of chiropractic patients. Visit us at and follow us on Twitter and Facebook.