ACA’s 2015 Annual Awards Honor Chiropractic Physicians for Outstanding Contributions to the Profession

Recipients were recognized at the 2015 National Chiropractic Leadership Conference, Feb. 25-28, in Washington, D.C.

Arlington, Va. – The American Chiropractic Association (ACA) announced its 2015 Annual Award recipients, who were honored during ACA’s recent House of Delegates (HOD) meeting as part of the 2015 National Chiropractic Leadership Conference (NCLC 2015) in Washington, D.C., Feb. 25-28. ACA’s Annual Awards are presented to outstanding volunteer members and other individuals for their contributions to the chiropractic profession.

“It is my pleasure to acknowledge this year’s award recipients who have dedicated themselves to advancing the chiropractic profession,” said ACA President Anthony Hamm, DC. “The recipients of these awards have achieved extraordinary accomplishments and deserve this recognition of their peers.”

The association’s highest honor, the Chiropractor of the Year Award, was presented to the immediate past chairman of the ACA Board of Governors, Michael P. Simone, DC, CCSP, FICC, of Fort Lupton, Colo. Dr. Simone, who received his Doctor of Chiropractic degree from Logan College of Chiropractic in 1986, stepped into the role of chairman as a result of the untimely death of then Chairman Robert Mastronardi, DC, who passed away in 2012 following a battle with cancer.

Richard (Rick) Miller, ACA’s Acting Executive Vice President, received the Humanitarian of the Year Award, which recognizes exceptional service, achievement and leadership to the profession. Miller, a long-time political consultant to ACA and the association’s former vice president of government relations, first became affiliated with ACA nearly 25 years ago when he spearheaded the association’s response to the national health reform debate that took place under the administration of former President Bill Clinton. In his past service to ACA, Miller also led the creation of the Patients’ Access to Responsible Care Alliance (PARCA), a coalition of organizations that represent the interests of millions of patients and non-MD healthcare providers.

Other 2015 ACA Annual Award recipients include:

Anthony Lisi, DC, Associate Professor of Clinical Sciences at the University of Bridgeport College of Chiropractic in Bridgeport, Conn.: Academic of the Year Award, which recognizes an individual for his efforts in advancing the profession through academic or educational excellence.

Michele Maiers, DC, PhD, Associate Professor, Center for Healthcare Innovation and Policy at Northwestern Health Sciences University in Bloomington, Minn.: George B. McClelland, DC, Researcher of the Year Award, which recognizes an individual for developing, refining and/or expanding the body of knowledge in chiropractic.

Vern Saboe Jr., DC, FACO, of Albany, Ore.: Delegate of the Year Award, and William Doggett, DC, of Albuquerque, N.M.: Alternate Delegate of the Year Award. Both awards recognize exceptional service, achievement and/or leadership to the profession, as well as exemplary membership recruitment and communication efforts.

Cindy M. Howard, DC, DABCI, FIAMA, of Orland Park, Ill.: Flynn-Lynch Award, recognizing an outstanding member of the ACA Council of Delegates with no more than five years experience on the Council.
Photos of award winners are available upon request by e-mailing ACA’s communications department.

NCLC is the premier national conference for doctors of chiropractic, chiropractic assistants and chiropractic doctoral students. The event brings together the best of chiropractic, including current and future leaders, by exposing them to important professional briefings, cutting-edge education programs and opportunities to meet with elected officials and colleagues.


# # #

The American Chiropractic Association based in Arlington, Va., is the largest professional association in the United States representing doctors of chiropractic. ACA promotes the highest standards of ethics and patient care, contributing to the health and well-being of millions of chiropractic patients. Visit us at