The ACA blog provides readers with information to help them advance their knowledge, achieve their professional goals and strive for excellence, while also creating a greater sense of community among chiropractors nationwide through online engagement and information-sharing with their colleagues.

ACA blogs! How about you? For ACA's editorial policy and guidelines for writers, click here.

Submit your blog post 


Tuesday, March 21, 2017

SACA Elects New Board; Students Bring Home Awards and Scholarships

ACA, the World Federation of Chiropractic and the Association of Chiropractic Colleges teamed up recently to present a world-class chiropractic conference, DC2017. As part of the meeting, the Student American Chiropractic Association (SACA) met for their annual business meeting and elected a new SACA executive national board (SNEB). 

In other news, Northwestern Health Sciences University took home the 2017 SACA Chapter of the Year Award, and National University of Health Sciences-Illinois was named Most Improved Chapter. Four students were also awarded $2,500 scholarships each from Standard Process, a premier sponsor of DC2017. 

To add a bit of fun to the students' reunion, nine students and one group of students entered a SACA's Got Talent contest and performed talents such as singing, hula hooping and rapping. The DC2017 plenary session national anthem singer was one of the contestants and won the hearts (and ears) of the judges: She was rewarded $1,250 and another $1,250 for her SACA Chapter (Cleveland College of Chiropractic). Congrats to all!

See a list of the talent show winners, judges, contestants, scholarship winners and the members of the new SNEB below:

SACA’s Got Talent


1st place: Christina Linares – Cleveland College of Chiropractic

2nd place: Esteban Sandoval – Southern California University of Health Sciences

3rd place: Sarah Houhoulis – Palmer College of Chiropractic West

Additional contestants:

· Ian Bennett – New York Chiropractic College

· Natalie Doria – Parker University

· Chunky Wright – University of Bridgeport College of Chiropractic

· Arman Fathi – National University of Health Sciences Illinois Campus

· Andrea Ohmann and Tyler DePaulis – Northwestern Health Sciences University

· Timeca Brown – Logan University

· Group Entry – University of Western States


· Dr. John Nab – Standard Process

· Dr. Bryan Weissman and Dr. Callie McClure – ChiroTouch

· Dr. Joanne Monath and Dr. Paul Morin – NBCE

· Dr. Corey Harrington – Representing the ACA Millennial Think Tank

· Mr. Justin Toups – China-Gel


SACA / Standard Process Scholarships Winners ($2,500 each):

· George Aoude - University of Bridgeport College of Chiropractic

· Sarah Houhoulis - Palmer College of Chiropractic West

· Rebecca Bell – University of Western States

· Jocelyn Tierney - Cleveland College of Chiropractic


2017/2018 SACA National Officers

· Chair: Andrea Ohmann - Northwestern Health Sciences University

· Vice-Chair: Jennifer Razey – National University of Health Sciences Illinois Campus

· Legislative Chair: Esteban Sandoval - Southern California University of Health Sciences

· Legislative Vice-Chair: Caitlin Jones – New York Chiropractic College

· Immediate Past Chair – Dr. Bryan Kent

In photo below: Front row (left to right): Jennifer Razey, Andrea Ohmann, and Caitlin Jones.  Back row: (left to right): Esteban Sandoval and Dr. Bryan Kent

SACA Chapter Awards

 Chapter of the Year - Northwestern Health Sciences University

Most Improved Chapter - National University of Health Science-Illinois 


All students were also invited to the 2nd Annual Chiropractic Career Fair, where 16 doctors from around the country and the Philippines presented job opportunities. A list of presenting doctors and opportunities will be posted on the DC2017 conference mobile app for student attendees to access.  

Rate this article:
No rating

Please login or register to post comments.